top of page

Never Again - Part II



A recent development in the health of my pup has led me back to this subject so that I may offer my fellow dog owners, and especially my fellow sport dog owners, yet another reason not to get your dog fixed. I had explained the rampant misguidance in the “pet health” circle of medical professionals, many of whom are too weak or lazy to break away from the current to do their own research, that getting your dog neutered isn’t as important, or even as healthy, as we’ve been led to believe. And now, I’ve discovered yet another adverse side effect to my dogs “male-ectomy.” He now leaks. Yep. From down below. He’ll just be standing there, walk away, and staying back will be a few drips, and in some cases, even a little puddle.


And before you chalk it up to just a urinary tract infection or prostate issue, I can quash that right now. He was tested for both and both came back negative. It wasn’t until I sought a second opinion that I discovered a brave veterinarian unafraid to face his mistakes and admit that he, along with so many, have been wrong about prescribing this all too typical sterilization procedure.


He explained that, often when you remove a dog’s testicles, you create a dog deficient in testosterone. That alone is the culprit for my dog’s leaky issue.


So, I caution you to get away from the corporate veterinarian and find yourself one who is unafraid to paddle his own canoe.

bottom of page